Elder abuse, which is so unfortunate, continues to happen, especially by family caregivers. Elder abuse stories permeate the news. Recently, Joseph McCoy, 30, and Darlene Green, 54, both pleaded no contest to felony elder abuse
of their grandmother and mother, respectively, in Bakersfield, California. The case was one of the worst that healthcare professionals had ever seen, according to court records.
In an effort to stem senior abuse, Napa County California began enforcing a new law requiring all home caregivers to register for a permit if they receive free room and board or any other form of compensation for caregiving. This includes family caregivers. Permits are issued after caregivers undergo background checks through the Napa County Area Agency on Aging’s website
According to the county, for a private caregiver, the background check fee is $90 for the first year, $79 for the second year and $67 for the following year. The annual permit, issued by the Napa County clerk/recorder, costs $20 per year. In six months, Napa county has issued permits to nearly 200 caregivers
Caregiver agencies must also submit names for background checks and purchase permits for their home caregivers. State-licensed registered nurses and certified nursing assistants are exempt from required permits.
Caregiverlist has always championed background checks
for home health care workers with its Criminal Super Search with Social Security Number Match at a cost of $18 and same-day turnaround. But while this is a recommended check, most states do not require this vetting.
Will other states follow Napa County’s lead? You can keep up with the latest recommendations by checking your state’s Area Agency on Aging
What do you think? Is the permit program launched in Napa California a good idea to help prevent elder care abuse, or do you feel it is one more bureaucratic intrusion and a way to collect fees from caregivers, especially those caring for family members? caregiver