Caregiver training in the senior care industry for professional caregiver employment is regulated by each state’s Department of Health. Training requirements for nursing homes, assisted living communities and senior home care agencies protect both seniors and caregivers.
Review the Arizona caregiver training requirements apply professional caregiving jobs near you.
Arizona Senior Caregiver Training Requirements
0 Hours of Professional Caregiver Training Required by State Law
Caregivers employed to provide care for seniors on Medicaid are required to complete 6 hours of training and this training is called: Direct Care Worker (DCW) Training.
Professional senior caregivers can obtain basic caregiver training certification by learning the skills taught in the Caregiver Training University Basic Training course. Upon passing the exam, a caregiver will obtain a certificate. Learn more about online caregiver training.
The Arizona state association for senior home care agencies has actively lobbied for the state of Arizona to pass into law specific training requirements for profesional senior caregivers. Caregivers employed to provide care for seniors on Medicaid are required to complete 6 hours of training and this training is called: Direct Care Worker (DCW) Training.
SB (Senate Bill) 1605 Caregiver Services was introduced by killed in the Arizona Senate Health Care Committee in March 2007 for "no provision to license individual caregivers." Representative Chad Campbell maintained interest in presenting a new bill which would use this bill as a template to create a bill to license the non-medical industry and build safety and protections for seniors. The Arizona Non-Medical Homecare License Coalition (AZNHLC) was created to keep the initiative moving forward. Another attempt at introducing a new bill failed in the Sunrise Committee process in December, 2010.
Caregiverlist Certified Caregiver Training provides a 8-hour online training course meeting the guidelines established by senior care industry professionals.
Senior care companies will maintain their own caregiver training policies and provide caregiver training for each client along with training on age-related illnesses such as Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.
Certified Nursing Aides must take a state-approved C.N.A. course and then successfully pass the state exam.