Caregiver training in the senior care industry for professional caregiver employment is regulated by each state’s Department of Health. Training requirements for nursing homes, assisted living communities and senior home care agencies protect both seniors and caregivers.
Review the washington caregiver training requirements apply professional caregiving jobs near you.
washington Senior Caregiver Training Requirements
12 Hours of Professional Caregiver Training Required by State Law
Private duty senior home caregivers in Washington state must have 75 hours of training which is 10 hours less than C.N.A. Training.
Find C.N.A. Training Schools in Washington state.
Family caregivers wanting to learn basic caregiving skills may take this online caregiver training course.
Washington state voters passed Initiative 1163 in 2011 which was legislation that was a buffett of mandates which made it a bit confusing. Caregiver training was sandwiched in with a liquor law and was passed. The SEIU was in favor of this training as they would be financially compensated for the testing hours a caregiver working for the Medicaid community home care program through their union which is now 75 hours. Unfortunately this now means all private duty home care agencies must pay caregivers for 75 hours of training time if they do not already have this training. Most senior care companies now only hire C.N.A.'s who already have training over and above 75 hours.
Caregiverlist Certified Caregiver Training provides a 8-hour online training course meeting the guidelines established by senior care industry professionals.
Senior care companies will maintain their own caregiver training policies and provide caregiver training for each client along with training on age-related illnesses such as Alzheimer’s disease and Parkinson’s disease.
Certified Nursing Aides must take a state-approved C.N.A. course and then successfully pass the state exam.