Senior Services by State

US Map             

Learn About Senior Programs, Nursing Home Ombudsmen, Medicaid Programs, Background Check Laws, Senior Driving Laws

View Services by State.

Our Standards of Quality

Caregiverlist Quality Approved

We require participating senior home care agencies to meet a checklist of standards for safety and consistency in care. View our Quality Standards.

Caregiver Checklists

Senior Home Care Agency Checklist
Choosing a Home Care Agency Checklist
Choosing an Assisted Living Community Checklist
Safe Driving Checklist
Senior Caregiving Employment Checklist
View all checklists

Caregiverlist Blog

Join the caregiving conversation.
Recent Posts

Follow this Blog

Background Check

Background Check

Stand out from the crowd. Employers prefer applicants who have passed a criminal background check.

Hiring Professional Caregivers?

Hiring Professional Caregivers

Contact Us about Caregiverlist's
Proprietary Hiring Tools & Caregiver Training - Saving You Time & Money

Inside the Industry

Insight the Industry

News and Tools for Senor Care Companies.

Follow Us Online

Check us out on Twitter & Facebook

Caregiver Training Requirements By State

Licensed senior home care agencies provide "private-duty" senior care services given by Companion Caregivers, Home Health Aides or Certified Nursing Aides who follow a professional Plan of Care. Each licensed senior home care agency must follow the caregiver training requirements established in their state.

Caregiver training requirements for each state are shown below. Purchase a 10-hour online Certified Caregiver Training course meeting the standards for Illinois and the other states requiring 10 hours or less of training. You may find a quality senior home care agency in your area if you are looking for senior care or apply for a professional senior caregiver job with a licensed senior care company.

StateTraining HoursSpecial RequirementsHome Care LicensingNon-Medical TraningAdditional
Alabama0Buy TrainingNo licensing requirementsNo training hours required
Alaska0Buy TrainingNo licensing requirements (only business license required)No training hours requiredOnly CPR and First Aid training and a TB test are required.
Arizona0Buy TrainingNo training required
Arkansas0Buy TrainingNo training required
California0Buy TrainingNo training required
Colorado0Buy TrainingPersonal CareNo training required
Connecticut0Buy TrainingPersonal Care - Home care agencies not licensed under Dept. of Health but "registered" under Dept. of Consumer Protection, which requires background checks but no training.No training required.Background check required.
Delaware75Personal Care75 hours
District of ColumbiaBuy TrainingPersonal Care
Florida40Personal Care40 hours
Georgia40Companion/Homemaker, Personal Care40 hours
Hawaii0Buy TrainingNo training required
Idaho0Buy TrainingNo training required
Illinois8Buy TrainingHome Services8 hours
Indiana40Companion/Homemaker, Personal Care40 hours
Iowa0Buy TrainingNo license requiredNo training required.Home care agency provides training.
Kansas0Buy TrainingNo training required.Home care agency provides training.
Kentucky0Buy TrainingNo training required.
Louisiana0Buy TrainingNo training required.Home care agency provides training.
Maine0Buy TrainingNo training required.Home care agency provides training.
Maryland40Personal Care40 hours
Massachusetts0Buy TrainingSpecial Business LicenseNo training required
Michigan0Buy TrainingNo licensing requiredNo training required
Minnesota24Special Business License, Personal Care24 hours
Mississippi0Buy TrainingNo training required
Missouri0Buy TrainingNo training required
Montana0Buy TrainingNo training required
Nebraska7516 of the 75 hours must be supervised trainingPersonal Care75 hours with 16 hours supervised training16 of the 75 hours must be supervised training
Nevada16No specified number of required training hours, but training in 16 subjects is required by the state.Companion/Homemaker, Personal CareNo specified number of hours, but training in 16 certain subjects is required.No specified number of required training hours, but training in 16 subjects is required by the state.
New Hampshire0Buy TrainingCompanion/Homemaker, Personal CareNo training required.Home care agency provides training.
New Jersey76Companion/Homemaker, Personal Care76 hours
New Mexico0Buy TrainingNo training required
New York6Buy TrainingPersonal Care6 hours
North Carolina40Personal Care40 hours
North Dakota0Buy TrainingNo training required
Ohio0Buy TrainingNo training required
Oklahoma7516 of the 75 hours are in a classroom; another 16 must be supervised practical trainingPersonal Care75 hours - 16 classroom and 16 supervised practical training16 of the 75 hours are in a classroom; another 16 must be supervised practical training
Oregon0Buy TrainingPersonal CareNo training required
PennsylvaniaBuy TrainingPersonal Care40 hours within first 3 months of employmentMust be completed within first 3 months of employment
Rhode Island2520 hours in classroom; 5 hours practical Personal Care25 hours - 20 classroom and 5 practical20 hours in classroom; 5 hours practical
South Carolina0Buy TrainingEstablished - postponed drafting specifics until OctoberNo training required
South Dakota0Buy TrainingNo training required
Tennessee0Buy TrainingPersonal CareNo training required
Texas40Personal Care40 hours
Utah0Buy TrainingCompanion/Homemaker, Personal CareNo training required
Vermont0Buy TrainingNo training required.Caregivers must pass a state test as well as a background check and drug test.
Virginia10Buy TrainingPersonal Care10 hours
Washington7585 hours to become a CNACompanion/Homemaker, Personal Care75 hours before caregiver can be staffed by licensed agency.85 hours to become a CNA
West Virginia0Buy TrainingNo licensing requirementsNo training hours required
Wisconsin0Buy TrainingNo licensing requirements for personal careNo training hours requirement
Wyoming0Buy Training

Senior care services are moving to the home. As Medicare does NOT pay for long-term senior care (Medicaid, for very low-income seniors, does pay for long-term senior care in a nursing home and in some states pays for part-time home care services), it is expected more state legislatures will pass special guidelines and training requirements for senior home care. This will protect both seniors and senior caregivers. Many states require professionals to only refer to licensed senior home care agencies who provide for payroll taxes and insurance benefits (including worker's compensation insurance, unemployment insurance and Social Security contributions) for the senior caregivers along with an active Care Manager.